Saturday, November 10, 2012

The 12 Lakota Virtues

The Lakota (pronounced [laˈkˣota]; also known as Teton, Titunwan ("prairie dwellers"), Teton Sioux ("snake, or enemy") are an indigenous people of the Great Plains. They are part of a confederation of seven related Sioux tribes, the Oceti Šakowiŋ or seven council fires, and speak Lakota, one of the three major dialects of the Sioux language.
The Lakota are the western-most of the three Sioux-language groups, occupying lands in both North and South Dakota. The seven bands or "sub-tribes" of the Lakota are:
Notable persons include Tataŋka Iyotake (Sitting Bull) from the Hunkpapa band; Touch the Clouds from the Miniconjou band; and, Tašuŋke Witko (Crazy Horse), Maȟpiya Luta (Red Cloud), Heȟaka Sapa (Black Elk), Siŋte Gleška (Spotted Tail), and Billy Mills from the Oglala band.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.